Best Accredited Online Interior Design Courses in the UK (2026)

If you are looking for an accredited online interior design course in the UK, six providers are worth serious consideration. They range from £895 to £1,597, they run from eleven weeks to two years, and the word “accredited” means something different in almost every case.

Our top pick

London College of Style, Interior Design Residential Diploma. £1,170 including VAT, or three interest-free instalments. Eleven weeks. It is the only course here taught live every week rather than recorded, the fastest route to a finished diploma by some margin, and the only one that includes complimentary student membership of the British Institute of Interior Design. It also teaches you how to price your work and win clients, which most interior design courses leave out entirely.

This guide sets out what each course costs, how long it takes, who accredits it and what that accreditation actually gives you.

The courses at a glance

RankProviderPriceDurationAccreditationFormatSoftware
1London College of Style£1,170 inc VAT, or three instalments11 weeksA.C.E.; 40 hours CPD; BIID student membership includedOnline, live weekly masterclassesSketchUp, Canva
2National Design Academy£895 in full, or 8 payments of £1208 to 10 monthsOfqual-regulated Level 3, AIM QualificationsOnline flexible, plus in-studio optionsCAD as a separate short course
3Interior Designers Hub£1,597, or £97 a month over 18 monthsUp to 2 yearsOfqual-regulated Level 3, AIM QualificationsOnline, self-pacedSketchUp Pro, two-year licence
4British Academy of Interior Design£8956 to 12 months, up to 36 allowedBritish Accreditation Council; CPD Standards OfficeHome study, self-pacedNot stated
5The Interior Design InstituteOn enquiry12 months, self-pacedThird-party accreditations, not named publiclyOnline, self-pacedSketchUp and AutoCAD as paid add-ons
6British College of Interior DesignOn enquiry; plans from £10 per weekUp to 12 months, self-pacedIARC; I.A.P.C.C.Online, self-pacedNot stated

Ranked on four things: how much live teaching and tutor contact you get, what the qualification and professional membership give you afterwards, whether the fee and what it covers are published openly, and how much practical business content is included. Price alone does not decide it, because the cheapest course is rarely the one that gets you paid work fastest.

What “accredited” actually means in interior design

Interior design is not a protected profession in the UK. Nobody can stop you calling yourself an interior designer, and there is no single qualification you are legally required to hold. That is why accreditation claims vary so widely, and why comparing them properly matters more here than in most fields.

There are three different things a provider might mean when they say their course is accredited. They are not interchangeable.

iStock 2261812595

Regulated qualifications

A regulated qualification sits on the Register of Regulated Qualifications and is overseen by Ofqual, the government regulator for England. It is awarded by a recognised awarding organisation such as AIM Qualifications, and it carries a level from 1 to 8. A Level 3 sits alongside an A level. A Level 6 is degree equivalent.

National Design Academy and Interior Designers Hub both award Ofqual-regulated Level 3 qualifications through AIM Qualifications. This route matters most if you expect to progress to a degree later and want the UCAS points, or if an employer has specifically asked for a levelled qualification. For freelance and residential work, which is where most people on these courses are heading, clients almost never ask what level your qualification sits at.

Industry and quality accreditation

This covers bodies that assess the provider or the training rather than awarding a regulated qualification. The British Accreditation Council inspects the institution. The CPD Standards Office and CPD certification confirm that learning hours meet a recognised professional development standard. A.C.E., Accreditation for Creative Excellence, accredits creative training providers.

These are meaningful quality signals, and they are how most short, intensive and industry-led courses are accredited. London College of Style is accredited through A.C.E. and carries CPD certification for 40 hours, which is what a professional body or an employer looks at when they want evidence of structured, assessed learning. A course in this category is not a nationally levelled qualification, and any provider implying otherwise is overstating it, so check which category a course sits in before you pay.

Professional body recognition

The British Institute of Interior Design (BIID) is the UK’s professional body for interior designers. Membership is graded, and the grades are earned through a combination of qualification and documented professional practice rather than by completing any single course. Some providers include BIID student membership with enrolment, which gives you access to the institute’s resources and events while you study and a route into full membership later.

If long-term professional standing matters to you, ask any provider what BIID grade their course supports you towards and what else you would need to do. A straight answer is a good sign.

The courses in detail

Every entry uses the same fields so you can compare like with like.

1. London College of Style, Interior Design Residential Diploma

Price: £1,170 including VAT, in full or as three interest-free instalments

Duration: 11 weeks

Accreditation: London College of Style Diploma accredited through A.C.E., Accreditation for Creative Excellence, plus CPD certification for 40 hours. Complimentary BIID student membership included

Format: Online, with live weekly masterclasses of 1.5 to 2 hours every Wednesday, all recorded for catch-up

Entry requirements: No prior design experience or qualifications required

Software: SketchUp and Canva training included

Best for: Live taught teaching on a fixed timetable, and starting to take residential clients quickly

Three things separate this course from everything else on the list.

It is taught live. Every other course here is recorded self-study. London College of Style runs live masterclasses every Wednesday with a tutor you can ask questions of in real time, and records them so you are never locked out by a clashing commitment. For most career changers this is the difference between finishing and quietly stopping in month four.

It includes BIID student membership. The British Institute of Interior Design is the UK’s professional body for the field. No other provider on this list includes membership of it. That gives you the institute’s resources, guidance and events while you are still studying, and a recognised route towards graded professional membership afterwards.

It teaches the business, not just the design. Alongside design principles, spatial planning, lighting and residential project process, the diploma covers how to attract clients, build client relationships, price your work correctly and market your services. A qualification that leaves out the commercial side leaves you with skills and no way to charge for them.

It is also the most transparent on cost. The fee is published, the instalment terms are published, and there is a 14-day cancellation period. Two providers on this list will not tell you the price without an enquiry form. Full details are on the Interior Design Residential Diploma course page, and the wider interior design course options are listed together.

2. National Design Academy

Price: £895 paid in full, or 8 monthly payments of £120. UK student loan funding available, covering £1,645 with a £50 admin fee

Duration: 8 to 10 months, flexible

Accreditation: Ofqual-regulated Level 3, awarded by AIM Qualifications

Format: Online flexible, with fast-track Zoom, UK in-studio and Dubai in-studio alternatives

Entry requirements: 16 or over, no previous qualifications required

Software: Not included in the core diploma. CAD is taught in a separate short course

Best for: A regulated Level 3 at the lowest cost, with student loan funding and a route to BA and MA study

NDA offers the widest range of progression on this list, including BA (Hons) Interior Design, BA (Hons) Heritage Interior Design and an MA with Practice Management. If you think you may eventually want a degree, starting here keeps that door open.

3. Interior Designers Hub

Price: £1,597 in full, £137 a month over 12 months, or £97 a month over 18 months

Duration: 10 modules at 20 to 25 hours each, up to 2 years to complete

Accreditation: Ofqual-regulated Level 3 Diploma, awarded by AIM Qualifications and Assessment Group. Qualification number 610/1068/6

Format: Online, self-paced, 24/7 access

Entry requirements: Not published

Software: SketchUp Pro, with a two-year licence included

Best for: A regulated Level 3 with software training bundled in, and UCAS points if you may go on to a degree

This is the most expensive course on the list, and it is the only one that includes a multi-year software licence in the fee. It also carries 24 UCAS points towards degree entry.

4. British Academy of Interior Design

Price: £895, with an instalment plan available

Duration: 6 to 12 months typically, with up to 36 months allowed to complete

Accreditation: British Accreditation Council; CPD Standards Office

Format: Home study, self-directed

Entry requirements: 18 or over, no prior qualifications required

Software: Not specified for this course

Best for: Studying at your own pace over a long window, at the lower end of the price range

BAID also runs certificate, professional diploma, BTEC HNC and HND routes, and a BA (Hons) Level 6 top-up, so there is a progression path if you want one.

5. The Interior Design Institute

Price: Not published. Issued at enrolment, with flexible payment structures

Duration: 12 months, self-paced, with 3, 6 and 12 month extensions available to buy

Accreditation: Partnered with third-party accreditation bodies, not named publicly on the course page

Format: Online, self-paced

Entry requirements: Not published

Software: SketchUp and AutoCAD taught in Advanced Modules, which are a paid add-on rather than part of the core diploma

Best for: Self-paced study with optional advanced software modules, if you are comfortable enquiring for the price

There is a seven-day full refund window from enrolment. Because the accreditation bodies are not named on the course page, ask for them in writing before you pay.

6. British College of Interior Design

Price: Not published. Payment plans advertised from £10 per week, full fees issued on enquiry

Duration: Self-paced, up to a year, with an accelerated option

Accreditation: IARC and I.A.P.C.C.

Format: Online, self-paced

Entry requirements: Not published

Software: Not specified

Best for: Flexible instalment plans if cash flow is the constraint

You will need to request a course guide to get the fee, which makes direct comparison harder than it should be. Ask for the total payable under each plan, not just the weekly figure.

Which course is right for you

iStock 1473558346
Art Deco interior in classic style with yellow armchairs and lamp.3d rendering

You want live teaching rather than recorded videos. London College of Style is the only course here with scheduled live masterclasses every week. If you learn better with a fixed timetable and a tutor you can actually ask, self-paced study is the wrong format for you regardless of price.

You want to finish quickly and start taking clients. Eleven weeks at London College of Style is the shortest route to a completed diploma on this list. Everything else runs eight months to two years. If your plan is to be working with paying clients next year rather than still studying, that difference is the whole decision.

You want to be connected to the profession, not just qualified. London College of Style is the only provider here that includes BIID student membership. Professional body membership is what gives you access to the institute’s guidance and events, and a route to graded membership as your practice grows.

You want a nationally levelled qualification. Choose an Ofqual-regulated Level 3: National Design Academy at £895, or Interior Designers Hub at £1,597. Both are awarded through AIM Qualifications. NDA is the cheaper route and offers student loan funding; Interior Designers Hub includes a SketchUp Pro licence and 24 UCAS points.

You are fitting study around a full-time job with unpredictable hours. A self-paced course with a long completion window suits you better. British Academy of Interior Design allows up to 36 months; Interior Designers Hub allows two years.

You want to work on people’s homes specifically. Check that the syllabus separates residential from commercial practice. They are different disciplines with different client relationships, budgets and regulations, and a course covering both at a shallow level may leave you underprepared for either.

You need CAD skills for employment. Interior Designers Hub includes SketchUp Pro in the fee. The Interior Design Institute teaches SketchUp and AutoCAD as a paid add-on. National Design Academy sells CAD as a separate short course. If AutoCAD specifically is a job requirement for you, confirm it is included before enrolling anywhere.

What to check before you enrol

Whichever course you are considering, these six questions will tell you most of what you need to know. Ask them by email so you have the answers in writing.

  • Who awards the qualification, and is it on the Register of Regulated Qualifications? If it is, ask for the qualification number.
  • What is the total payable under each payment plan, not just the monthly or weekly figure?
  • How much tutor contact is included, is it live or asynchronous, and is there a limit?
  • What do students actually produce by the end, and can you see finished examples?
  • Is any software licence included in the fee, and for how long?
  • What is the cancellation window and the refund policy after it closes?

About London College of Style

London College of Style is a creative education provider delivering accredited training online and in London. The college has trained and mentored over 7,000 students worldwide and holds a 4.9 out of 5 Google review rating. The Interior Design Residential Diploma runs online over 11 weeks at £1,170 including VAT, payable in full or in three interest-free instalments, with a 14-day cancellation period. Graduates who want to specialise further can progress onto a dedicated Commercial Advanced Diploma.

Interior design sits alongside the college’s other creative career routes. If you are weighing up more than one direction, you can compare the interior design courses, personal styling courses, colour analysis courses and the Start and Grow business development programme, or see all courses in one place.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a qualification to work as an interior designer in the UK?

No. Interior design is not a protected profession in the UK, so there is no legally required qualification. In practice, most clients and employers want evidence that you can run a project properly, which usually means a recognised course and a portfolio of finished work.

Is an online interior design diploma taken seriously?

It depends what is behind it. An Ofqual-regulated Level 3 from a recognised awarding organisation carries a formal national level. An industry-accredited diploma signals that the provider and the training have been assessed. Both are credible. A certificate with no named accrediting body behind it is worth very little, so always check who accredits the course and ask for it in writing.

How much does an accredited interior design course cost in the UK?

Between £895 and £1,597 for the accredited online diplomas covered here. National Design Academy and British Academy of Interior Design are £895. London College of Style is £1,170. Interior Designers Hub is £1,597. Two providers on this list do not publish their fees.

Can I study interior design while working full time?

Yes. Every course listed here is designed for it. Self-paced courses give you the most freedom, with completion windows from one to three years. If you prefer structure, a course with live weekly sessions gives you a fixed commitment to plan around, typically one to two hours a week plus study time.

How long does an online interior design diploma take?

From 11 weeks to two years, depending on format. Live taught courses run to a set timetable and finish fastest. Self-paced courses typically take eight to twelve months of steady study, with longer windows available if life gets in the way.

Do interior design courses teach SketchUp or AutoCAD?

Some do, and it is rarely included by default. Interior Designers Hub includes SketchUp Pro with a two-year licence. London College of Style teaches SketchUp and Canva. The Interior Design Institute offers SketchUp and AutoCAD as paid Advanced Modules. National Design Academy teaches CAD in a separate short course. Check before you enrol if software is important to you.

What is the difference between residential and commercial interior design?

Residential design is private homes, working directly with the people who live there. Commercial design covers workplaces, hospitality and retail, with corporate clients, larger budgets, longer timelines and more regulation. The skills overlap but the client relationship and the commercial pressures are different, so it is worth deciding which you want before choosing a course.

Can you become an interior designer without a degree?

Yes, and many working designers have. A diploma plus a strong portfolio is a common route, particularly in residential work where clients hire on evidence of taste and competence rather than academic credentials. If you think you may want a degree later, choosing a regulated Level 3 that carries UCAS points keeps that option open.

Is it too late to change career into interior design?

No. Career changers are the norm in this field rather than the exception, and experience from another profession is often an advantage. Project management, client-facing work, budgeting and negotiation all transfer directly into interior design practice.

What does BIID student membership give you?

Access to the British Institute of Interior Design’s resources, guidance and events while you study, and a route towards graded professional membership later. It is included with some courses and can be applied for separately with others.

Related news and insights